“Cheer” and “Queer Eye” Lead Winners of the Second Annual Critics Choice Real TV Awards

TV / Video Download
Cover image for  article: “Cheer” and “Queer Eye” Lead Winners of the Second Annual Critics Choice Real TV Awards

The Critics Choice Association (CCA) and nonfiction producers’ organization NPACT today unveiled the winners for the second annual Critics Choice Real TV Awards, which recognize excellence in nonfiction, unscripted and reality programming across broadcast, cable and streaming platforms.  In addition, the groups announced that Jeff Probst of CBS' long-running Survivor has been honored with the Critics Choice Real TV Impact Award. 

Netflix, which led the networks in nominations, also won the most awards, topping eight categories.

The streamer's Cheer (pictured at top) and Queer Eye led the winners, each taking home two awards -- Cheer for Unstructured Series and Male Star of the Year (Jerry Harris) and Queer Eye for Lifestyle: Fashion/Beauty Show and Ensemble Cast in an Unscripted Series.  The Culinary Show category resulted in a tie, with both Food Network's Chopped and Bravo's Top Chef honored.

Survivor host and executive producer Jeff Probst received this year’s Critics Choice Real TV Impact Award, for his ongoing contributions to the unscripted television industry.  Probst is a four-time Emmy Award winner for Outstanding Reality Host.   His acceptance speech can be viewed here.

Though this year’s ceremony was not held in person due to the ongoing pandemic, special acceptance videos from each of the winners can be found linked in each category below.  For a special welcome and introduction from virtual emcee and Travel/Adventure Series winner Phil Rosenthal, please click here.

To learn more about the Critics Choice Real TV Awards, see the full list of nominees and view all winners’ acceptance speeches, visit CriticsChoice.com.

The honorees for the two peer-voted awards (Outstanding Achievement In Nonfiction Programming By a Network or Streaming Platform and Outstanding Achievement In Nonfiction Production) are selected by the members of NPACT, the U.S. association for nonfiction production companies.  While the shows themselves are recognized by critics and the public in the other Real TV Awards categories, these awards celebrate the excellence and innovation that happens behind the scenes to create, develop, produce and deliver every show to the viewing public.  The nonfiction production community has come together, through NPACT, to acknowledge and celebrate the best of their colleagues and collaborators with these two awards.

For the Critics Choice Real TV Awards, Bob Bain and Joey Berlin serve as Executive Producers.  Michelle Van Kempen is Executive Producer for NPACT.

Winners of the Second Annual Critics Choice Real TV Awards

Competition Series -- RuPaul’s Drag Race (VH1)
Competition Series: Talent/Variety -- The Voice (NBC)
Unstructured Series -- Cheer (Netflix)
Structured Series -- The World According to Jeff Goldblum (Disney+)
Business Show -- Shark Tank (ABC)
Sports Show -- The Last Dance (ESPN)
Crime/Justice Series -- Jeffrey Epstein: Filthy Rich (Netflix)
Ongoing Documentary Series -- Frontline (PBS)
Limited Documentary Series -- Hillary (Hulu)
Short Form Series -- Carpool Karaoke: The Series (Apple)
Live Show -- Chasing the Cure (TNT)
Interactive Show -- Watch What Happens Live with Andy Cohen (Bravo)
Culinary Show – (tie) Chopped (Food Network) and Top Chef (Bravo)
Game Show -- Jeopardy!: The Greatest of All Time (ABC)
Travel/Adventure Series -- Somebody Feed Phil (Netflix)
Animal/Nature Show -- Seven Worlds, One Planet (BBC America)
Lifestyle: Fashion/Beauty Show -- Queer Eye (Netflix)
Relationship Show -- Love Is Blind (Netflix)
Lifestyle: Home/Garden Show -- A Very Brady Renovation (HGTV)

Critics Choice Real TV Fan-Voted Awards

Ensemble Cast in an Unscripted Series -- Queer Eye (Netflix)
Female Star of the Year -- Dr. Sandra Lee, Dr. Pimple Popper (TLC)
Male Star of The Year -- Jerry Harris, Cheer (Netflix)
Show Host -- Alex Trebek, Jeopardy! (CBS Television Distribution)

Critics Choice Real TV Peer-Voted Awards

Outstanding Achievement In Nonfiction Programming By a Network or Streaming Platform -- Netflix
Outstanding Achievement In Nonfiction Production -- Raw TV

Click the social buttons above or below to share this content with your friends and colleagues.

The opinions and points of view expressed in this content are exclusively the views of the author and/or subject(s) and do not necessarily represent the views of MediaVillage.com/MyersBizNet, Inc. management or associated writers.

Copyright ©2024 MediaVillage, Inc. All rights reserved. By using this site you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.